top of page
Capture d’écran 2020-09-02 à 15.17.49.


You are here in one of the most prestigious vineyards in the world. Discover the countless châteaux and take the time to taste the best wines.

For lovers of discovery and nature, Saint-Emilionnais is full of hiking loops, to be done on foot or by bike.

But Saint-Emilion is also ...


A little history

In Gascon, "Sent Milion" is a village steeped in history. It bears the name of a Breton monk (Emilion) who stopped there, while returning from a pilgrimage to Compostela. It was in the 8th century.

"Sent Milion"

Sent Milion

The Jurisdiction of Saint-Emilion, which includes the eight municipalities where the appellation is produced, has been registered since December 5, 1999 on the world heritage list as cultural landscapes.

- On the one hand to be " an outstanding example of a historic wine-growing landscape which has survived intact and is in use today ";

- On the other hand to " illustrate in an exceptional way the intensive cultivation of the wine vine in a precisely delimited region ".

The appearance of the vine dates back to the first century AD, when Celtic warriors (the Bituriges vivisques) planted the ancestor of Cabernet: the Biturica grape, known to be more resistant to cold.

The latter will facilitate trade during the Roman occupation. Exchanges which will continue to develop in the 12th century, when Alienor, Duchess of Aquitaine, will marry Henri Plantagenet, the future king of England. Significant commercial activity with Great Britain will take place during this period.


Juridiction de Saint-Emilion.JPG
Les Appellations


The 8 communes of the appellation are, Saint-Emilion, Saint Christophe des Bardes, Saint Etienne de Lisse, Saint Laurent des Combes, Saint-Hippolyte, Saint Peys d'Armens, Saint Sulpice de Faleyrens, Vignonet and part of the commune from Libourne. That is to say an area of ​​approximately 7,500 hactares.

Four Appellations d'Origine Contrôlée, Saint-Emilion, Saint-Emilion Grand Cru, Lussac Saint-Emilion and Puisseguin Saint-Emilion. To which, we must add Montagne Saint-Emilion and Saint-Georges Saint-Emilion.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The current classification dates from 2012. It includes 3 levels: Saint-Emilion Grand Cru, Saint-Emilion Grand Cru Classé and Saint-Emilion Premier Grand Cru Classé

Les monuments

The monuments

The 12 unmissable monuments of Saint-Emilion

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

bottom of page